Selling LOTS of Books and Why Bright Ideas Can Go BADLY

For anyone wanting to write a novel, check this out.

Kristen Lamb's Blog

The Reliant Robin: Image via "Top Gear" The Reliant Robin: Image via “Top Gear”

Writers must understand structure if they hope to be successful. Yes, it might take five years to finish the first novel, but if we land a three book deal, we don’t have 15 years to turn in our books. And the key to making money at this writing thing is we have to be able to write books…the more the better. If we can write GREAT books quickly? WINNING!

Understanding structure helps us become faster, cleaner, better writers.

Plotters tend to do better with structure, but even pantsers (those writers who write by the seat of their pants) NEED to understand structure or revisions will be HELL. Structure is one of those boring topics like finance or taxes. It isn’t nearly as glamorous as creating characters or reading about ways to unleash our creative energy.

Structure is probably one of the most overlooked…

View original post 1,835 more words

6 thoughts on “Selling LOTS of Books and Why Bright Ideas Can Go BADLY

  1. i’ve been having fun looking through your posts on Louise’s story. Your subject is an often-painful reminder of how incredibly difficult those years can be. I’m constantly amazed by people who say they were the best years of their lives. No, I’m actually sorry for them…

    Keep up the writing. If you don’t mind a tip, I’d look more carefully at your grammar and spelling. Don’t mean to go all grammar-Nazi, but anything that sticks out like that can pull a reader out of the powerful flow of your narrative. And your writing is just too good with too much potential to lose readers over something you can fix. Good luck!

    • Yes, was afraid of that. Grammer is not my strong point. Do you have any suggestions on how I can fix it meaning do you know of any good books or computer programs that could help me? I use ‘word’ but it doesn’t catch everything.

      Thank you so much for stopping by. I appreciate your honest imput. It means a lot to me.

      I hope to improve much. This knowledge that I have no training has kept me from writing a story for so many years. I finally decided to just do it, get it out there. So this is me just going for it, good or bad. I just have to.

      I’m planning on having it finished by the end of the year. Then to revise and make cuts where needed. Now I am in the process of just getting the story onto paper.

      I love all of the information I have been able to find on writers blogs. There are some really good ones out there. I’m considering taking a course next month on writing novels. It won’t help my grammer, but may give me insite on how to know what fits into the book and what doesn’t.

      I didn’t even now that I was writing in a narrative style untill Susie pointed it out. I had this idea of writing the book like a journal, but in third person. Is that how it comes across?

      Thank you for taking the time to stp by and leave such a nice comment. It is not always easy to believe the possive commentary. I’m trying really hard.

      I would still write even if it was negative because I simply have to write. It is just in me right now and wants to get out.

      Have a very nice day.

  2. Thanks for stopping by my blog to say “hi!” I admire your desire to write a book. That’s something I’ve never been able to get my head around doing, so I root for others to write their books so that I can say that I knew them before they became famous. Looks like you’re well on your way to fame.

Leave a Reply

